Home » Design and Construction

The BetterBricks Awards Usher in New Crop of Energy Efficiency Champions

24 April 2012 | Posted By 7,038 views No Comment

The BetterBricks Awards recently completed the annual tour around the Northwest, finishing up in Helena, Montana last month.  A total of 19 people throughout Oregon, Washington and Montana were recognized for their achievements in commercial building energy efficiency.  Since 2002, nearly 200 people have been honored with a BetterBricks Award – from architects, building owners, school superintendents to property manager, facility managers and even a few politicians.

For those who don’t know, the BetterBricks Awards recognize the outstanding career achievements of commercial building professionals whose efforts in promoting and implementing high performance design and operating solutions result in tremendous energy savings.  The Awards are hosted by the Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance’s BetterBricks initiative and includes regional utilities and media partners such as the Portland and Puget Sound Business Journals.

Below is the latest cadre of winners from around the Northwest.  Winners were selected by a panel of judges comprised of industry professionals, utility representatives and green building experts.

Be sure to watch their “Words of Wisdom” for some inspiration.  You can find full details on all past Award winners at the BetterBricks website here.

Download Portland Business Journal’s special section here.

Advocate Winner: Ralph Dinola
Principal and Director of Marketing, Green Building Services
Watch Ralph’s “Words of Wisdom”




Emerging Leader Winner: Martin Tull
Executive Director, Green Sports Alliance
Watch Martin’s “Words of Wisdom”



Owner/Developer Winner: Justin Hurley
Director of Real Estate & Sustainable Planning, Asante Health System
Watch Justin’s “Words of Wisdom”




Design Engineer Winner: John McMichael
Mechanical Principal, Interface Engineering
Watch John’s “Words of Wisdom”




Design Engineer Winner: Steve Reidy
Principal, PAE Consulting Engineers, Inc.
Watch Steve’s “Words of Wisdom”




Special Judges Award Winner: Mitch Dec
Energy Department Manager, Glumac
Watch Mitch’s “Words of Wisdom”




Download Puget Sound Business Journal’s special section here.

Architect/Designer Winner: Allyn Stellmacher
Partner, ZGF Architects
Watch Allyn’s “Words of Wisdom”




Advocate Winner: Rod Kauffman
President, BoMA Seattle King County
Watch Rod’s “Words of Wisdom”




Emerging Leader Winner: Brian Geller
Director, Seattle 2030 District
Watch Brian’s “Words of Wisdom”




Owner/Developer Winner: Robert Foster
Construction Planning Administrator, Northshore School District
Watch Robert’s “Words of Wisdom”




Facility Manager/Operator Winner: Cal Ihler
Associate Director of Facilities Operations and Maintenance, Seattle University
Watch Cal’s “Words of Wisdom”




Facility Manager/Operator Winner: Rick Mock
Director of Facilities, Washington Holdings
Watch Rick’s “Words of Wisdom”




Special Judge’s Award: Scott Dorough
Resource Conservation Manager, Peacehealth St. Joseph Medical Center
Watch Scott’s “Words of Wisdom”




Download the special insert profiling each award winner here.

Architect/Designer Winner: Jim Shepard, AIA
Chairman of the Board, CTA Architects Engineers
Watch Jim’s “Words of Wisdom”




Design Engineer Winner: Chris Batson, P.E.
Public Buildings Energy Supervisor, Montana Department of Environmental Quality
Watch Chris’ “Words of Wisdom”




Facility Manager/Operator Winner: Dan Stevenson
Campus Engineer, Montana State University
Watch Dan’s “Words of Wisdom”




Facility Manager/Operator Winner: Mark Chitwood
Resource Conservation Manager, Kalispell Regional Medical Center
Watch Mark’s “Words of Wisdom”

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.